Kazuya Kato, saxofon (Japan)

Tirsdag d. 9. april kl. 19.30
Kammermusiksalen, Musikhuset Aarhus

Billetter a' kr. 50 via Musikhusets Billetsalg
(AUT-medlemmer fri adgang)

Åben introduktion v/ Kazuya Kato kl. 18-19.

The concept of this concert is based on Kazuya’s interest in music and the possibilities of the saxophone. His two main interests are musical energy flow and shades of time.

Kazuya has chosen contemporary works for this concert, which he finds to really match these interests. Fantastic energy flow gives vivid emotion and impressions, just like famous books. When Kazuya listen to music, the length of time gets very abstract; in spite of two musical pieces having the same duration, some music feels long and some music feels short.

Kazuya has chosen 4 Japanese pieces and 1 Danish piece for the concert. The Danish work, De Profundis, by Simon Steen-Andersen, is a very important work for Kazuya. When he listened to this fantastic work, he strongly felt that this piece would be a new masterpiece for saxophone

In this program, Kazuya has chosen works with completely different styles, but all with their own unique languages.


Takashi Tokunaga:
Autopoietic Motion for alto saxophone solo (2018) *
EU premiere

Hiroyuki Yamamoto:
Saxophone the Relay for amplified alto saxophone (1999)
EU premiere

Osamu Kawakami:
Pellucid hawkmoth for alto saxophone solo (2018) *
EU premiere

Hiroyuki Yamamoto:
Extended Waltzer for alto saxophone solo (2017) *
EU premiere

Simon Steen-Andersen:
De Profundis for Soprano saxophone soloist, also playing percussion (2000)

*These works are dedicated to Kazuya Kato.

This concert is arranged by Aarhus Unge Tonekunstnere (AUT) in collaboration with The Royal Academy of Music, Aarhus.

The concert will be held as a culmination of a two-day workshop with the Academy’s saxophone class, and it will also feature a short public presentation/masterclass with Kazuya, presenting the different pieces and their various techniques and aesthetics, prior to the concert, at 18.00-19.00.


Siden er sidst opdateret ons d. 27. marts 2019