Electronic Composition

The BMus (Electronic Composition) degree at The Royal Academy of Music, Aarhus and Aalborg, is a 3-year study course (180 ECTS credits) in which students acquire knowledge, skills, and qualifications to become composers and teachers of electronic music. With its starting-point in their own composition work students are introduced to a broad range of subjects and projects that lead to individual choices for further studies and a future career.

The Course Structure

The course structure focuses from the outset on students’ compositional and technical skills. Later, students also learn how to communicate music – practically and theoretically.

The BMus (Electronic Composition) degree course concludes with a student-defined project, based on their interests and needs, which also serves as part of their specialization in electronic music.

The Course Subjects

The course subjects are divided into the following fields:

  • Main study area: Subjects where students are practising musicians plus subjects that support this aspect
  • Teaching skills: Subjects where students communicate and teach music plus subjects that support this aspect
  • General studies: Elementary subjects, obligatory for all students
  • Entrepreneurial studies: Subjects and projects where students acquire initiative skills, manage dynamic processes, and acquire tools to further their careers
  • Bachelor project: In addition to guidance on their project, students are prepared through project-related studies

The various elements in the course are credited with ECTS points based on an assessment of the workload involved in the subjects.

Full curriculum

See full curriculum here

Page last updated 29th of May 2017